Citadel Credit Union to Honor These 31 Educators Making a Better Future for Us All on May 2

citadel credit union logo

Citadel Credit Union will honor 31 of the finest educators from Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Lancaster, and Philadelphia counties with its Citadel Heart of Learning Award on Monday, May 2 from 6-9 PM at The Mann Center in Philadelphia.

The Citadel Heart of Learning Award program, now in its 21st year, started in Chester County but has expanded in recent years to honor teachers from the entire region.

Teachers were nominated by students, peers, parents, and administrators. Citadel receives thousands of nominations each year for teachers who truly go above their standard call of duty.

Twenty-eight winners receive $1,000, and three grand-prize winners (announced at the ceremony) will receive $5,000 for themselves and another $5,000 for their school.

“Citadel is proud to recognize 31 educators who each has a unique background and their own story,” said Mike Schnably, Senior Vice President, Citadel Credit Union. “Across Greater Philadelphia, our counties, towns, and districts have varied challenges and students with diverse needs. What all areas have in common is there are dedicated teachers building strength in education. Celebrating teachers, the unsung heroes who mold our children, continues to be one of Citadel’s proudest moments as an organization each year.”

The following elementary school teachers will be honored with the Citadel Heart of Learning Award:

  • Elena Carlson, Gladwyne Elementary
  • Shawntae Brabham, Disston Elementary
  • Michelle Jacobs, Warwick Elementary
  • Matt Rogers, Salisbury Elementary
  • Miriam Coppola, Wayne Elementary
  • Amy Hess, French Creek Elementary
  • Jason Baughman, Jordan Bank Elementary
  • Jennifer Burns, Robeson Elementary Center
  • Dawn Oldenski, Chadds Ford Elementary
  • Deb Rooney, Bradford Heights Elementary
  • Jennifer Franz, Sarah Starkweather Elementary

The following middle school teachers will be honored with the Citadel Heart of Learning Award:

  • Riley Polino, Rudolph Blankenburg School
  • Kristi Gases, Maple Point Middle School
  • Ryan Hipp, Donegal Junior High
  • Linda Homer, Darby Township
  • Lisa Adamski, Scott Sixth Grade Center
  • George Hankins, Colonial Middle School
  • Lisa Gray, Phoenixville Middle School

The following high school teachers will be honored with the Citadel Heart of Learning Award:

  • Marissa Regad, Central Bucks West High School
  • Veronica Vladimirova-Cambria, Harriton High School
  • Louis Lozzi, Paul Robeson High School
  • Elyse Minder, J.P. McCaskey High School
  • Chrissa Kuntz, Penncrest High School
  • Mike Deegan, Mastery Charter Harrity Upper School
  • Kyle Sollenberger, TCHS Brandywine
  • Michael Kowalski, Avon Grove High School
  • Kyle Hess, Great Valley High School
  • Wendy Kotz, Kennett High School
  • Kelly Holub, Octorara Junior/Senior High School
  • Orlando Carvajal, Conestoga High School
  • Dante Coles, Malvern Prep

Learn more about the Citadel Heart of Learning Award.

Connect With Your Community

Subscribe to stay informed!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.