Immaculata University Honors Student Leaders

Mark Hostutler
Image via Immaculata University.

Immaculata University has announced the 2019-2020 recipients of its Student Leadership Awards.

Below is the list of students with the name and description of their award:

Community Service Initiative Award: A.J. Castaldi of Boyertown. The student recipient provides service to an external organization, was sponsored/recognized by the University and makes a positive impact on the students, the club/organization and the recipients.

Mission and Vision Award: Christy Volovnik of Quakertown. This award is given to a student who exemplifies the University core values (faith, community, service, knowledge, virtue) inside and outside of the classroom and is involved across a variety of university programs, clubs, organizations, and committees.

Student Club/Org Advisor of the Year Award: Dr. Charlene Fitzwater of Exton (professor of business and finance). The recipient of this award provides support and guidance and advances the development of the organization and student members. This person assists in the positive growth of the individual students and overall organization.

Rising Student Leader Award AND the Engaged Student Leader Award: Francesca Kalie of Shickshinny. The recipient of the Rising Student Leader Award shows a commitment to serve the Immaculata community side-by-side with the elected student leaders and administration of the campus. This student helps to complete any task needed while modeling the core values and mission of the university. He/she shows promise to continue to exemplify growth and development as a leader.

Through his/her involvement, the recipient of the Engaged Leadership Award has shown ambitions to improve campus life and strengthen the IU community with the anticipation he/she will continue to be involved and active on campus through leadership positions.

Monsignor Harnett Medal Award: Jessica McHugh of Harleysville. A medal is presented, in memory of Monsignor Joseph Harnett, to a senior who has witnessed to his/her concern for social justice through involvement in volunteer service to the poor and needy.

Legacy of 1920 Award: Laura Lindmeier of Hatfield. The recipient of this award exemplifies the University Student Code of Conduct Statement by seeking excellence in the classroom, on the playing field, and in positions of leadership and service across campus. The recipient leaves Immaculata better than he or she found it, leaving a legacy for all those who follow.

Resident Assistant, Commuter Assistant, and Programming Assistant Staff Award: Elizabeth Lipscomb of Philadelphia. This award is given to a paraprofessional staff member who has gone above and beyond the job requirements for students, the community, and the university.

Senior Leadership Award: Samantha Snider of Reisterstown, Md. The Senior Leadership Award is given to a senior who has made significant contributions during his/her time at IU. The student demonstrates progressive leadership and holds one or more formal leadership roles.

Click here to learn more about Immaculata University.