Agricultural Development Council Seeks Nominations For Farmer And Agriculture Awards


Do you know an outstanding farmer or someone who gives exceptional service to those who work in agriculture?

The Chester County Board of Commissioners and Agricultural Development Council are accepting nominations for the Farmer of the Year and Distinguished Agricultural Service awards.

6.12.2014 Chester County AgThe Farmer of the Year Award is presented to a deserving Chester County individual or family that exemplifies outstanding farm practices, has an innovative operation and keen business sense, and runs a well-maintained farm.

The Distinguished Agricultural Service award is given each year to an individual who has made significant contributions to and provided exceptional service for the Chester County agricultural community.

Award recipients are celebrated in a number of ways throughout the year. Both Farmer of the Year and Distinguished Agricultural Service award winners are honored by the Board of County Commissioners and are also acknowledged by agricultural partner groups for their exemplary agricultural practices and service to the industry.   The Ag Council also highlights the Farmer of the Year winner and their operation in the annual Local Farm Products Guide.

Nominations may be submitted by friends and associates who are familiar with the nominee’s qualifications.  Deadline for nominations is July 31.  Nomination forms are available online at under “Forms and Applications,” or call Ann Lane at 610-344-6512.

The Chester County Agricultural Development Council promotes agriculture in Chester County by raising awareness about the viability of local agriculture and by promoting agricultural excellence and farming.

In 2013 Farmer of the Year awards were shared by Pete Flynn of Pete’s Produce, and Tom and Barbara Schaer of Meadowset Farm.  Daniel Miller, president of the Chester and Delaware Farm Bureau, received the Distinguished Agricultural Service award.


Images courtesy of A Guide To Local Farm Products In Chester County